Short Film Submissions are now closed since Monday May 9th at 5pm GMT


With three Oscar® qualifying categories, the Film Fleadh’s advocacy for emerging film talent is reflected in our annual programme of approximately 100 short films from all over the world, including drama and documentary, live action and animation, and everything in-between.

As an Oscar® qualifying festival, the winners of the Tiernan McBride Award for Best Fiction Short, the James Horgan Award for Best Animation Short and the TG4 Award for Best Documentary Short will qualify for Academy Award consideration without the standard theatrical run. We also reward first time directors in drama and animation, as well as the Donal Gilligan Award for Cinematography in a Short Film. Winners through the years include Lenny Abrahamson, Kirsten Sheridan, Ken Wardrop, Rebecca Daly, as well as DOP’s Michael Lavelle, James Mather, Tim Fleming and many more.

In addition to screenings, the Fleadh also delivers panels and networking events tailored towards short filmmakers, providing opportunities to meet with international and industry guests.

After two years of adaptation to new and different formats to safely stage the Fleadh for filmmakers and audiences – streaming films online in 2020 and then staging an outdoor festival in 2021 – we are looking forward to a return to the festival’s classic cinematic experience in July 2022.

The Film Fleadh accepts all types and genre of short film under 40 minutes, as well as picture-locked rough cuts.

The Submission Deadline is now closed