2021 Award Winners

On Sunday July 25th, 2021, the 33rd edition of the Galway Film Fleadh ended after another outstanding year.  This year the Fleadh moved outdoors, a first in the festival’s history and was a huge success in the summer sunshine. Festival goers were also able to see the best of Irish and international film premieres online and in cinema.

The annual awards ceremony took place online.

The winners are as follows:

Short Film Awards

Best international Doc Short – MAMA Directed by Pablo de la Chica and produced by David Torres

Best international Animation Short – Homebird Directed by Ewa Smyk and produced by Leah Jones

Best international Fiction Short – Leylak  Directed by Scott Aharoni, Dennis Latos

Best Debut Fiction Short: Bump Written & Directed by Rory Keenan and produced by Roxanne Holman

Best Debut Animation Short: Bardo  Written & Directed by Aisling Conroy and produced by Claire Lennon

The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film sponsored by Irish Society of Cinematographers in association with 24-7 Drama – Faitíos (The First Fear) Directed by Martha Fitzgerald with Cinematography by Alba Fernandez

Oscar Qualifying Awards

The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Fiction Short in association with Network Ireland Television:  Saul & I  Written & Directed by Jon Beer and produced by Brian J. Falconer

Best Short Documentary Award in association with TG4 – Nothing to Declare Directed by Garrett Daly

The James Horgan Award for Best Animation Short –  Memento Mori  Directed by Paul O’Flanagan, written by Paul O’Flanagan and Laura O’Flanagan, and produced By Louise Ní Chonchúir

Individual Artist Awards

Pitching Award – Giles Brody with his teen caper, Top Marks.

Bingham Ray New Talent Award in association with Magnolia Pictures  – TJ O Grady Peyton

Best Marketplace project in association with Bankside Films – ‘Lakelands’ – Production Company Harp Media (Ireland) – Producers Robert Higgins & Patrick McGivney.

We are thrilled to partner with the Galway Film Fleadh Marketplace once again on the award for Best Project. Congratulations to Robert Higgins and Patrick McGivney of Harp Productions on winning the award for their project LAKELANDS. The voters agreed that it is a well-developed story with a marketable concept which has the clear potential to appeal to distributors, international film festivals and audiences alike

Stephen Kelliher – Managing Director at Bankside Films – UK

Feature Film Awards

Inaugural Young Audience Award – Ride the Wave 

Peripheral Visions Award – EL PLANETA 

Best Irish Documentary – PURE GRIT 

Best Irish First Feature – FOSCADH 

Best Irish Film in association with Danú MediaHERE BEFORE 

The Awards Ceremony and all other live events, Q+A’s and panel discussions from the 33rd Galway Film Fleadh are available to watch back by clicking here.

A Year in Review 2023

A Year in Review 2023

The 35th edition of the Galway Film Fleadh brought powerful, moving, funny and provocative...

Principal funder