30th Galway Film Fleadh 10th - 15th July 2018


The Galway Film Fleadh awards laurels in:

  • 8 audience-voted feature film award categories
  • 9 jury-voted short film award categories (2 of which qualify the winner for the Oscar© longlist in that category)

Further individual awards include:

  • A script pitching award
  • The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in association with Magnolia Pictures
  • The Fleadh’s highest honour, The Galway Hooker

Feature Film

Best Irish First Feature
Best Irish Feature Documentary
Best Human Rights Feature
Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature

2015: My Name Is Emily
2016: Kate McCullough, It’s Not Yet Dark
2017: Song of Granite

Best International Feature
Best International First Feature
Best International Feature Documentary

Short Film

The James Horgan Award for Best Short Animation

2015: Violet
2016: Second To None
2017: An Island

Oscar qualifying
The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama

2015: North
2016: Lily
2017: Wave

Oscar qualifying
The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film

2015: Tim Fleming for My Bonnie
2016: Wifey Redux
2017: Burschi Wojner, Wave

Best First Short Animation Award

2015: Unhinged
2016: Joining Dots
2017: An Béal Bocht

Best First Short Drama

2015: Today
2016: Groundless
2017: The Date

The Best Short Documentary Award

2015: Queen Of The Plough
2016: Séan Hillen, Merging Views
2017: Throwline & Tit for Tatt

The Don Quijote Award for Best Animated Short Film

2015: Meanwhile
2016: Second To None
2017: An Béal Bocht

Best Animated Sequence in a Short Film

2015: Geist
2016: The Lost Letter
2017: Late Afternoon

The One Minute Film Festival

2015: Kevin O’Brien, Luke and Roger
2016: Carolyn Wagner, Something Borrowed
2017: Arjan Brentjes, Tempo

in association with

Individual Awards

The Bingham Ray New Talent Award

in association with

The Galway Hooker

2015: Pete Docter (Director), Inside Out
2015: Jonas Rivera (Producer), Inside Out
2015: Mohsen Makmalbaf (Director), The President
2015: Mícheál Ó Meallaigh (Former TG4 commissioning editor)
2016: Jim Sheridan (Director)

Pitching Competition